Shea Feehan Named to Bevo Francis Award Watch List

Photo courtesy of Michelle Curl.
Photo courtesy of Michelle Curl.

BALDWIN CITY, Kan. – Eureka College junior guard Shea Feehan (Peoria, Ill./Notre Dame H.S.) has been selected as one of 100 players to the Watch List for the Bevo Francis Award, according to a Monday announcement by Small College Basketball. The award is presented annually to the player who has had the finest overall season within the affiliations of NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA Division I, NAIA Division II, USCAA and NCCAA.

Bevo Francis Award Watch List

"The Bevo Francis Award has quickly become the most prestigious award for collegiate players at the small college levels, and this Watch List and award has now drawn a great deal of attention," Small College Basketball founder John McCarthy said in a Jan. 15 news release.

Feehan has led Eureka to an 11-4 mark this season, the Red Devils' best record through 15 games since the 1993-94 team opened 12-3 en route to the NAIA Division II national championship. Feehan ranks second in Division III with 30.1 points per game. He also ranks among the national top 100 with 422 total points (third), 139 field goals made (sixth), 55 3-pointers (12th), a 91.8 free throw percentage (14th), 89 free throws (15th) and a 42.3 3-point field percentage (73rd).

The Peoria Notre Dame product will enter Eureka's game at Fontbonne on Wednesday ranked eighth on the Red Devils' all-time scoring list with 1,350 points. His career scoring average of 26.5 through 51 career games is currently an all-time Eureka record and leads active players in all three NCAA Divisions.

"We've received a tremendous amount of information, and we've done a great deal of research," McCarthy continued. "Ultimately, selecting 100 players from 1,100 - 1,200 schools is extremely challenging. Our committee did a tremendous amount of research, and we tried to focus on the criteria for the Bevo Francis Award."

The committee chose Watch List from more than 1,100 colleges and universities and took into consideration individual statistics, previous awards, milestones and team success.

On Feb. 15, SCB will publish the next Watch List with 50 players. The list will be narrowed down to 25 players in a Watch List published on March 15. The finalists will be announced in a highlight video that will be released on March 31.

The 2018 Bevo Francis Award winner will be announced on April 2 but for the first time, the award will be presented to the award winner on May 19 at the newly created National Awards Show in conjunction with the SCB Alumni Association's Celebration of the Game event at the Crowne Plaza in Kansas City, Mo.