Six Red Devils Earn UMAC Academic Honor

Courtesy of Eureka College.
Courtesy of Eureka College.

ST. PAUL, Minn. – Six Eureka College football players have been selected to the 2016 Upper Midwest Athletic Conference Fall Individual Academic All-Conference Team, according to a Tuesday announcement from the league office.

Junior linebacker Logan Anderson (Onarga, Ill./Iroquois West H.S.), junior linebacker Chris Friend (Washington, Ill./Washington H.S.), junior defensive back Jake Jepson (Farmington, Ill./Farmington H.S.), sophomore wide receiver Josh Kuse (Heyworth, Ill./Heyworth H.S.), senior linebacker Dakota Padilla (Sandwich, Ill./Sandwich H.S.) and junior defensive lineman Trever Zeibert (Monee, Ill./Peotone H.S.) earned the league honor.

2016 UMAC Fall Individual Academic All-Conference List

Five of the six Red Devils are first-time honorees. Zeibert, who was also named to the All-UMAC First Team and All-Region Team in 2016, is a three-time UMAC Academic All-Conference recipient.

Individuals who earn a 3.5 or better grade point average or better during the Fall 2016 semester were eligible for the honor. A total of 513 student-athletes from nine full-time and five associate UMAC member institutions qualified for the award.

Eureka finished the 2016 season 8-2 overall and 7-2 in the UMAC to tie for second place in the final league standings. The eight victories were the most by the Red Devils since 2013 and marked the fifth time in program history EC reached the 8-win mark.