EC Women’s Basketball Releases 2020-21 Recruiting Class

EC Women’s Basketball Releases 2020-21 Recruiting Class

EUREKA – Eureka College women's basketball coach Jaylynn Stewart announced the addition of 16 new players to the program on Tuesday.

The former Red Devil standout's first recruiting class since taking over the program features five incoming freshmen and 11 transfers who will have at least one year of eligibility for the maroon and gold.  They will join four key returners in juniors Olivia Falls (Bloomington, Ill./Bloomington) and Marissa Murphy (Canton, Ill./Canton) and sophomores and Lauren Ausmus (Goodfield, Ill./Eureka) and Whitney Bozarth (Normal, Ill./Normal West) to round out the squad.

Six of the 10 transfers are from former St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference rival MacMurray College, including the Highlanders' top four leading scorers from last year's team. 

"The 2020 recruiting class is full of so much talent, but more importantly, great people," Stewart said. "Our fans are in for some really exciting basketball in the 2020-21 season! I am thrilled for this class to join the EC family and help us get started in this new chapter of Eureka women's basketball."

The Class of 2020 includes:

Emieria Brownlee (FR, 5-3, Sports Management, Peoria, Ill.; Manual) 

Ariel Chism (FR, 5-7, Athletic Training, Pekin, Ill.; Pekin) 

Alexis Doyle (JR, 5-4, Elementary Education, Mt. Sterling, Ill.; Brown County High School; MacMurray) 

Rachael Goekler (FR, 5-8, Pre-Physical Therapy, Marshall, Ill.; Marshall) 

Kennedy Jackson (JR, 5-11, Secondary Education, Peoria, Ill.; Limestone/Carl Sandburg, 5-11) 

Maddy LaGassa (JR, 5-8, Athletic Training, Roseville, Mich; Roseville, Glen Oaks Community College) 

Emma Miller (SO, Special Education and Psychology, Mackinaw, Ill.; Deer Creek-Mackinaw; MacMurray) 

Savanah Moore (SO, 5-3, Criminal Justice, Clinton, Ill.; Mount Pulaski; MacMurray) 

Seairah Moore (SR, 5-3, Sports Management and Business Administration, Clinton, Ill.; Clinton, Robert Morris University, MacMurray;) 

Shakaya Rogers (JR, 5-4, Physical Therapy, Hanover, Mich; Concord High School/Glen Oaks Community College) 

Kyla Simmons (FR, 5-4, Elementary and Special Education, Mackinaw, Ill.; Deer Creek-Mackinaw) 

Abby Stotler (SO, 5-7, Physical Education, Wyoming, Ill.; Stark County High School; MacMurray) 

Alaina Vance (SR, 5-6, Elementary Education, Camp Point, Ill.; Camp Point Central/ MacMurray) 

Bria Wessel (FR, 5-9, Kinesiology, Peoria, Ill.; Limestone) 

Haley Wiechmann (JR, 5-5, Criminal Justice, Flanagan, Ill,; Flanagan-Cornell) 

Lily Young (FR, 5-4, Education/Mathematics, Downs, Ill.; Tri-Valley)